The Triple Door is located on Union Street in the Mann building, the former home of the Embassy Theatre which was established as opened in 1926. Live performances were only held in the Embassy for a short while before becoming a movie theatre at the end of the ’20s. The Embassy Theatre maintained its title as an A-list theatre well into the fifties but slowly lost popularity in the sixties. In 1983, the building closed down and remained vacant for over a decade. The building was bought in 1999 by Rick and Ann Yoder, and renovations to improve the quality of live performances began in the fall three years later. In September 2003, The Triple Door opened the doors to their first show where Skerik’s Syncpated Taint Septet performed and recorded their live album (which was released 7 years later). The venue quickly rose in popularity and hosted shows for bands in the lounge (known as the “Musicquarium”) such as Ottmar Liebert, The Courage, Natacha Atlas, Bassekou Kouyate,The Unthanks, Katie Herzig, Greg Dulli, Alyse Black and Edwin McCain.